100 journalists to follow on Twitter for your PR and media relations activity

100 journalists to follow on Twitter

Here’s a list of 100 journalists to follow on Twitter to help your PR and media relations.

Have you taken our free online training module explaining how to use Twitter to help your PR activity and achieve media coverage? If you have, you’ll know how much I love Twitter as a powerful and free tool to:

  • Finding media opportunities
  • Stay on top of trending topics
  • Build relationships with journalists
  • Share content and maximise exposure to the media

If you’ve not taking the training module, you can access How to Use Twitter for PR and Media Coverage here. It’s completely free and I explain exactly how I use Twitter every day to find great opportunities for my clients, as well as my own business.

One way to get the most out of Twitter as a PR and media tool is to follow relevant journalists.

You can start to research and find journalists who are relevant to your business, but to give you a head start, here are 100 journalists who you should follow.

If you’re new to Twitter or want to step up your media relations activity, follow them and see what they’re talking about and if they’re looking for any case studies or comments you could help them with.

100 journalists to follow on Twitter

Adrian Bradley, @adebradley, Broadcast Journalist BBC Radio 4, BBC World at One

Adrían Bridgwater, @ABridgwater, Technology Journalist – Computer Weekly, TechTarget, Forbes, The Register

Alison Coleman, @alisonbcoleman, Forbes contributor, editor, journalist. Special interests in startups and thought leadership.

Almara Abgarian, @almaraabgarian, Freelance journalist and editor, regular contributor for Metro

Amanda Killelea, @akillelea ‏, Feature writer for Daily Mirror

Amy Packham, @amypackham15, Journalist at Huffington Post

Andrew Garthwaite, @AndGarth, Journalist, statistician, cartoonist, Financial Times

Andy Johnson, @AndyPJo1, Former BBC1 presenter, media coaching, presentation training, event and podcast host

Angela Epstein, @adepstein1, Freelance journalist, broadcaster, social commentator, columnist

Aubrey Allegretti, @breeallegretti, Reporter and occasional news editor for Sky News Politics. Former Huffington Post and The Times.

Bethan Ryder, @BethanRyder, Design journalist and digital editor of Wallpaper*

Bianca Barratt, @bianca_barratt, Freelance writer, formerly at Culture Trip and Evening Standard.

Brogan Driscoll, @Brogan_Driscoll, Lifestyle editor Huffington Post

Cagil M. Kasapoglu, @CagilKasapoglu, Journalist, BBC World Service and BBC Turkce

Candice Pires, @candicepires, Journalist, copywriter, bylines for The Guardian, New York Times.

Carol Lewis, @CarolLewis101, Commissioning editor at The Times. Deputy on the property and personal finance sections. Write about property, finance, business and travel

Catherine Jones, @catherine5news, Channel 5 News Health Correspondent.

Cathy Toogood, @CathyToogood, Freelance travel writer and editor

Chris Smith, @CJSmith91, Freelance football writer

ChrisMaguire, @editor_Maguire, Editor of tech magazine BusinessCloud

Claire Phipps, @Claire_Phipps, Guardian digital editor. Formerly Guardian senior live blogger.

Claudia Tanner, @claudiatanner, Claudia covers real life, health, money, women’s issues and relationships at the i newspaper.

Colette Walsh, @ColletteWalsh, Journo and commentator (nationals, TV & radio – BBC) Lifestyle, travel

Daisy Murray, @DaisyMurray93, Digital Writer at Elle UK

Daniel McLaughlin, @MrDanMcLaughlin, @PerspecsNews journalist. @ReformRadioMCR presenter.

Danuta Kean, @Danoosha, Writer for hire for Guardian, Mslexia etc. Writes about publishing, diversity, class and feminism.

David Jack, @DJack_Journo, National newspaper journalist

Diane Cooke, @dicookie, Journalist for soon-to-be-launched social media site http://www.allicantellyou.com . Writes on mental health issues for NHS.

Elisa Menendez, @menendez_elisa, Spanish speaking reporter @olivepress. Words for Daily Mirror, Evening Standard, Metro, The Sun, Mail Online, MEN.

Emma Sheppard, @EmmalouSheppard, Freelance journalist, writing for Guardian, BBC, I Paper Travel, Wired and more.

Felicity Hannah, @FelicityHannah, Award-winning freelance journalist covering finance & consumer affairs. Mirror, Independent, BBC Radio 5 Live, loveMONEY

Flic Everett, @fliceverett, Journalist

Gary Chappell, @GaryChappellDE, Night sports news editor, Daily Express.

Geoff Maynard, @g_maynard, News editor at the Daily Express

Grace Holliday, @graceholliday, Freelance journalist for Grazia, Guardian, HuffPost, Independent, Buzzfeed, Metro, Gal-dem.

Harry Wallop, @hwallop, Freelance consumer journalist. Feature writer. Make TV programmes (esp @C4Dispatches @TheGadgetShow)

Hazel Davis, @hazedavis, I contribute to a number of publications including the Financial Times, Guardian, Telegraph, Times and plenty of the women’s glossies, in-flight magazines, and trade media

Heidi Scrimgeour, @heidiscrim, Freelance Journalist. Gear editor at Mother and Baby.

Helen Carroll, @JournalistHelen, National newspaper and magazine journalist. Always looking for case studies and great stories

Helen Pidd, @helenpidd, North of England editor of the Guardian.

Ian Leonard, @iancleonard, Freelance journalist – print, online and broadcast

Jack Leather, @jleather, Digital Editor for @5_News at ITN

Jenna Farmer, @jennafarmeruk, Freelance writer at Indy Best, Metro, MTV

Jennifer Savin, @JenniSavin, Features writer at Cosmopolitan

Jess Wilson, @JessWJourno, Journalist. Deputy Digital Features Editor at The Sun.

Jill Foster, @JournalistJill, Yorkshire-based freelance writer/editor. Co-founder of FeatureMe! UK on Facebook.

Jim McClelland, @SustMeme, Sustainable Futurist: Editor, Journalist, Speaker, Chair; Climate + Energy, Built Environment, Cities, CSR. Green sustainability

Jim Waterson, @jimwaterson, Media editor at the Guardian.

Jo Dunbar, @LadyDunners, Freelance journalist

Joey Millar, @JoeyMillar, Online reporter Daily Express

John Fitzsimons, @JohnTheJourno, Freelance journalist for the Mirror, Sun, loveMONEY, Moneywise, Forbes and MoneySuperMarket

Karen English, @karenenglish06, BBC NI News & current affairs radio producer and broadcast journalist.

Kate Russell, @katerussell, Tech reporter, @BBCClick @NatGeoTravelUK

Katie O’Malley, @KatieOMalley__, Digital news editor Elle UK

Kay Loveridge, @KayHLoveridge, Community radio presenter, writer, freelance journalist.

Kevin Maguire, @Kevin_Maguire, @DailyMirror associate editor. @NewStatesman columnist.

Kevin Schofield, @PolhomeEditor, Ex-Herald, Scotsman, Daily Record and Sun. Now editor of Politics Home

Laura Kussenberg, @bbclaurak, Political Editor, BBC

Lauren Sharkey, @laurensharkey_, Fashion and culture writer / contributor @bustle @heroinenyc / bylines i-D, The Cut, The Daily Beast, BBC Future

Lorna Parkes, @lorna_explorer, Travel journalist

Louise Bolotin, @louisebolotin, Freelance journalist and writer

Louise Ridley, @LouiseRidley ‏, Journalist. Ex special projects editor @HuffPostUK & news editor for longform/special projects @buzzfeednews.

Lucy Skoulding, @Lucy_Skoulding, Journalist Accountancy Age and other titles

Martin Hewitt, @martinghewitt, Journalist- music, travel, society. @DJMag@MetroUK_Life @skiddle @Mixmag @demagazine @McrFinest

Matt Burgess, @mattburgess1, Journalist @wireduk. Covering security, privacy and other things.

Micha Frazer-Carroll, @Micha_Frazer, Writer Huffington Post. I write about race, gender and mental health. Bylines in @Guardian, @Blueprintzine & @ROOKIEMag too. Arts Editor @galdemzine.

Natasha Loder, @natashaloder, Healthcare Correspondent, The Economist

Niamh Spence, @missnspence, Freelance journalist featured in Daily Mirror, the Debrief, Femail

Nick Van Mead, @nickvanmead, Deputy editor @GuardianCities, writer, edits Cycling the City

Oliver Pickup, @OliverPickup, Scribe @Telegraph, @Raconteur, @guardianlabs, @ODIHQ, @PickupMediaLtd

Olivia Cope, @OliviaaCope, Assistant producer at BBC Woman’s Hour

Olivia Solon, @oliviasolon, Journalist for @guardian. Formerly @WiredUK & @Business

Owen Evans, @OwenLEvans, Freelance journalist

Paul Harrison, @SkyNewsEditor, Westminster senior news editor, former Sky royal and business correspondent

Penny Marshall, @pennymitv, Social affairs editor @itvnews

Phee Waterfield, @Pheecetious, Journalist, Communication Consultant and Mental Health Advocate

Poorna Bell, @poornabell, Author – Chase The Rainbow, Public Speaker, Digital Expert, Journalist at The Pool, Guardian, Red

Rachel Smith, @RachReports, Freelancing, corporate comms

Raj Gil, @RajGillJourno, Forbes contributor. Former Sunday Times Journalist.

Rebecca Gamble, @RebeccaGMedia, Money columnist for Woman’s Own and freelance journalist covering consumer, money, travel, features, parenting.

Rich McEachran, @richmceachran, Journalist and copywriter. Words on startups, tech and innovation for Guardian, Telegraph, Professional Engineering

Rob Windscheffel, @RWindscheffel, I’m a journalist working as the Northern Producer for Channel 4 news.

Ruby Norris, @Roobzie, Writes for Heat, Closer and Grazia

Sadie Nicholas, @journalistSadie, Freelance journalist on the national press, based near Nottingham. Co-founder of FeatureMe! UK on Facebook. Always in the market for a great story.

Samantha Brick, @SamanthaBrick, Samantha is a frequent features contributor to the Daily Mail, You Magazine and Grazia for whom she writes about her life in France, lifestyle trends and personal issues.

Sarah Ewing, @SarahEwing, Freelance journo for national papers and glossy mags, started #journorequest

Shanaz Musafer, @shanaz17, @BBCBusiness digital features editor

Sharri Markson, @SharriMarkson, National Political Editor, The Daily Telegraph

Sian Griffiths, @SianGriffiths6, Education editor Sunday Times.

sion wyn pritchard, @swp81, IRN award winning Deputy News Editor for @global in #Wales

Sophie Alexander, @SophieAlex1, Journalist at ITV News.

Sophie Goddard, @Sophiegoddard, Freelance journalist and copywriter

Steve Nowottny, @stevenowottny, Journalist. News and features editor at @MoneySavingExp, before that editor of @pulsetoday

Seran Boyle, @SheronBoyle1, Newspapers, magazines and books

Tahmina Begum, @tahminaxbegum, Editor XXY Magazine, reporter Huffington Post, columnist Screen Shot Magazine, reporter Sleek Magazine.

Tom Rodgers, @tomrodgers4, Journalist and editor

Vicki Turk, @VickiTurk, Senior editor @wireduk, previously Tech Editor @NewScientist, UK Editor @Motherboard, @ViceUK.

Victoria Bischoff, @VBischoff, Money Mail Editor

Will Hazell, @whazell, Education reporter @tes formerly health reporter @hsjnews.

Yessi Bello-Perez, @yessibelloperez, Editor of UKTN (@UKTNofficial) • Jessi w/a Y • Recovering #crypto journo @coindesk • #techjournalism • #womenintech • #uktech •

FREE COURSE: How to use Twitter for PR and media relations

How to use Twitter for PR and media relations is a completely free course on the PR Unlocked website. It explains why Twitter is such a good tool for PR, how to use the hashtag #journorequest, how to spot and use trending Twitter topics for PR, how to build relationships with journalists - and more!

PR and marketing tips: 100 journalists to follow on Twitter to help you promote your business and get media coverage

1 thought on “100 journalists to follow on Twitter”

  1. Pingback: PR tips: How to use Twitter to secure national news media coverage

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *